Celebrate Selena

“Anything for Salinas”

selena

I watch the film, Selena, every time I have the chance and with this year marking the 20th anniversary of Selena Quintanilla-Perez’s death I know that the film will air more often. This quote is brought to life this year.

There will be many events will be held to commemorate Selena’s life, including the music festival, Fiesta de la Flor. This two-day festival held on April 17th and 18th, in her hometown of Corpus Christi, Texas, will celebrate her life and legacy.

Selena-Grammy

The Grammy-winning artist music crossed cultural boundaries and continue to do so today so her family, with the help of staff from the University if California, San Diego, are developing a hologram. While, I have my own person opinions of bringing the dead back to life with technology, however I am curious to see which numbers she will perform and how she will be portrayed when the hologram goes on tour in 2018. Hopefully the set list will include “Dreaming of You”, “Bidi Bidi Bom Bom”, and of course “I Could Fall In Love”, until then I just jam by myself.

-Mimi Oloye

Leave a Reply

