One Direction Goes In Two Directions

It’s like Justin Timberlake and *NSYNC all over again.

One Direction

One Direction

If you haven’t heard (which means you’re living under a rock), Zayn Malik has left the building, well One Direction anyway.

A couple of days ago, it was reported that Zayn would skip a few tour dates because of stress and when he felt better he would return touring with the band. However on March 25th, 2015, a band rep released a statement through Facebook saying that he has officially left the band:

After five incredible years Zayn Malik has decided to leave One Direction. Niall, Harry, Liam and Louis will continue as a four-piece and look forward to the forthcoming concerts of their world tour and recording their fifth album, due to be released later this year.

Zayn says: “My life with One Direction has been more than I could ever have imagined. But, after five years, I feel like it is now the right time for me to leave the band. I’d like to apologise to the fans if I’ve let anyone down, but I have to do what feels right in my heart. I am leaving because I want to be a normal 22-year-old who is able to relax and have some private time out of the spotlight. I know I have four friends for life in Louis, Liam, Harry and Niall. I know they will continue to be the best band in the world.”

Directioners are crying all around the world.

Even my little sister shed a tear…

However, they shouldn’t cry for too long, it’s speculated that after Zayn has some time off, he’s going to try his hand at a solo career. (Anyone else see a correlation with JT leaving *NSYNC minus ditching the tour of course?) There is no question he has the talent to go solo and if history repeats itself, he will have a long and lustrous career just like someone else we all love ( i.e. JT).

-Mimi Oloye

One response to “One Direction Goes In Two Directions

  1. I don’t think Zayn should go solo. If he wants to be normal, he shouldn’t try to revive his career. Also, JT leaning *NSYNC is not the same because the backstreet boys were also famous back then.

Leave a Reply

