My Thoughts on the Oscars

Last night, after a number of heartfelt, humble and entirely histrionic speeches, the 2014 Academy Awards finally came to a close. The show was a star-studded affair full of wins and losses, high and lows and, of course, Ellen’s many pantsuits.

rs_634x1024-140108134218-634.Ellen-Degeneres-Oscar-Promo.jl.010814

Lookin’ sharp

Now, we have heard the Academy’s opinions about the nominations, but what about what I think? Don’t I have any say in the matter? Well, I think I do, and I have a blog. So you are going to have to listen to what I think. Here goes:

1. Actor in a Supporting Role – Jared Leto for Dallas Buyer’s Club

A perfect choice. Leto steals every scene in Dallas Buyer’s Club as Rayon, an HIV-positive trans woman who teams up with Ron Woodroof (Matthew McConaughey) to establish a system for transporting supplements between the US and Mexico. Maybe I’m just biased because he did an interview for CalTV, but he really was spectacular. Well done, Academy. 

86th Academy Awards Nominee Luncheon - Arrivals

No, well done Jared

2. Animated Movie – Disney’s Frozen

I still haven’t seen this movie, but I do have a message for the people who still constantly sing “Let It Go.”

Please, let it go.

tumblr_mxh4i2zyUn1qdsm1jo1_500

I’m begging you

3. Actress in a Leading Role: Cate Blanchett for Blue Jasmine

What? How did she beat Sandra Bullock spinning in space for 2 1/2 hours? I feel ripped off.

Gravity trailer -- Pictured: Sandra Bullock (Screengrab)

“I think I’m gonna be sick, please give me an award!”

4. Actor in a Leading Role: Matthew McConaughey for Dallas Buyer’s Club

It’s hard to believe that the same guy who starred in Magic Mike just beat out Leo for an Oscar. But, then again, the American film industry is in the middle of the “McConnaissance,” and we are seeing a side of the actor that begs for critical acclaim. McConaughey’s performance in Dallas Buyer’s Club has clearly moved the actor out of “rom-com goofball” territory and into the spotlight, at least as far as the Academy is concerned.

article-0-1A9D96F100000578-143_634x422

5. Best Picture: 12 Years a Slave

Well, Ellen saw it coming.

46740184

And of course, the Oscar we were all waiting for…

Best Sound Mixing: Gravity

This one was a nailbiter! Definitely a controversial choice, but I’m going to have to agree. Skip Lievsay, Niv Adiri, Christopher Benstead and Chris Munro, you nailed this one.

GRAVITY

Thanks, guys, I sound amazing!

By Grant Genske

Leave a Reply

