The Legend Continues, and Does Not Disappoint

I felt a lot of emotions when I first heard that there would be an Anchorman 2.

glass-case

My initial reaction was to go into full boycott mode. Anchorman is one of my favorite films, if not my favorite. It is the Casablanca of our time. No one messes with Anchorman, not even the people who made it. Some things, you just don’t touch.

its-science-anchorman

But, when I was offered a free ticket to an early screening of the movie, my curiosity got the better of me. I knew I couldn’t pass up the chance to see Ron Burgandy’s divine coiffed mane, or Brian Fantana’s testosterone infused moustache. I caved in, and went to the screening.

tumblr_mv5jmk2iEa1rey868o1_500

AND IT WAS PROFOUND.

Sure, nothing will ever beat the original for me. Some movies are just so spot on, so quotable, that a sequel will never have the same impact. But damn, Anchorman 2 was right there with the original.

tumblr_ll7fdooep31qiggm3o1_500

The cast made a triumphant return in a sequel which referenced a lot of the jokes from the first Anchorman without relying too much on those bits. There is a new energy in Anchorman 2 which perhaps comes from the fact that these comedians are now so established and well known. In the first Anchorman, most of the actors were funny, but none of them were legendary. Now, it seems that these comedians, many of whom are the most successful actors in the field, are willing to push boundaries and see just what they can get away with.

tumblr_lyr05rY4I61rof9x3o2_500

Will Ferrell is, as always, hilarious in the role of Ron Burgandy. Some things never change. Steve Carrell once again nails the role of Brick Tamland, and his on screen love affair with Kristen Wiig, although sometimes a little bit forced, is kindof a match made in SNL style comedy heaven.

kristen-wiig-steve-carell-anchorman-2-o

Perhaps the best part of the story is that the narrative really critiques and engages with the history of 24 hour news. Without giving anything away, I will say that I was impressed at the plot line, and that the story really investigates some of the more ridiculous aspects of journalism which, though ludicrous, are accurate. People should see this movie if only for the battle scene, which is even more ridiculous and over the top than the first movie. with incredible cameos and even more advanced weaponry.

post-19582-Brick-where-did-you-get-a-hand-Fuhe

I won’t reveal any of the cameos, because they are amazing, but let’s just say that a certain incredible black actor makes a surprise guest appearance…

shocked-will-smith

All in all, fans of the first movie will be very pleased with Anchorman 2. It is definitely one of the better comedies that I have seen in a while, and the director has crafted a new work which stands on its own, and, in some ways, even stands up to the original.

I hope that you all get a chance to see it. Happy movie going, and as always:

You-Stay-Classy-San-Diego-Anchorman

by Grant Genske

Leave a Reply

