The Walt Disney Family Museum

Jansen Trahan

CalTV Entertainment

When it comes to Disney, I thought I’d seen it all. The shelves of my home entertainment center are lined with practically every DVD (and VHS, more importantly). I’ve got a strictly Disney playlist on my iPod, and the Fantasia soundtrack is what got me through midterm season. Going to Walt Disney World has become an annual tradition for me, and I’m making my first trip to Disneyland in less than a month (long overdue).  I’ve even taken a college Disney class. When I discovered that The Walt Disney Family Museum a) existed, and b) is located right here in the Presidio of San Francisco, I screamed. Then I ran as fast as I could to get there.

photo

The museum chronicles the origins of the Disney company and the life, career, and legacy of the man who made it all happen: Walt. The museum itself doesn’t appear very large, but that’s just the magic of Disney. There are floors (on floors on floors) of interactive musical games, vintage memorabilia, and state-of-the-art technological displays. And the history. OH THE HISTORY. It’s all so perfectly executed in the way only Disney could. Tears were shed (and shed again as I wrote this and mentally relived the experience).
The Holy Grail of trophy cases.

The Holy Grail of trophy cases.

Cinderella character sketches.

Cinderella character sketches.

TINY. DISNEYLAND.

TINY. DISNEYLAND.

K-E-Y Why? Because we like you.

K-E-Y
Why? Because we like you.

Please, if you’re ever in the San Francisco, make The Disney Family Museum a priority. If you aren’t already a Disney fan, I reckon you will be.

For more magic, visit http://www.waltdisney.org
Leave a Reply

