Cajun Cooking, Y’all

Jansen Trahan

For spring break 2013, I traveled back to my homeland of south Louisiana, which meant I got to spend ten days doing my favorite pastime: eating. I live just outside of Lafayette, LA, 2012’s Tastiest Town in America according to Southern Living magazine. I’m going to stop using words and just show you a dish from a place called Acme Burger.

Grilled Macaroni & Cheese

Grilled macaroni & cheese

I also spent a day in New Orleans and had dinner at Cochon in the Warehouse District. Bon Appetit magazine named Cochon one of the 20 Most Important Restaurants in America in 2013. I named it the most perfectly gluttonous night of my life. To preserve the dignity of my precious stomach, I’ll just post a few of the dishes I may or may not have entirely consumed.

Raw oysters with a mignionette dipping sauce.

Raw oysters with a mignionette dipping sauce

Crawfish pasta with a lemon-thyme butter sauce and asiago cheese.

Crawfish pasta with a lemon-thyme butter sauce and asiago cheese

Red velvet ice cream.

Red velvet ice cream

Louisiana, y’all.

If you’re ever in the mood to torture yourself with pictures of delicious food (me, daily), visit http://www.cochonrestaurant.com or find Acme Burger on Facebook. Or just come on down and visit us!

Leave a Reply

