Recipe Time!

When I came to college one of my biggest fears was food. I didn’t want to eat food from the dining commons day in and day out (even though Berkeley has a pretty healthy food program). In addition I have never been a cook. Popping oil scares me and I’m far too scatter brained to remember whats in the oven. Sad to say I’m one of those people who can mess up things that are hard to mess up, like rice. Anyway, while starting a new chapter of my life I decided it was time to stop running from the kitchen and just get in there. Over the last six months or so I have discovered ways to survive in the kitchen. I have actually become a decent novice cook in my opinion. All in all cooking is a great way to mix it up and it’s often more affordable than eating out. Here is one recipe I rely on for a quick well rounded meal. Give it a try. Don’t be afraid to add personal touches and have fun. It will feel good!

Quinoa Veggie Mix

ingredients:

1 cup cooked quinoa

pick 4 of your favorite veggies

I recommend:

Kale

red bell peppers

broccoli

mushrooms

plus: teriyaki or soy sauce

1. Cook the quinoa by bringing 2 cups of water to a boil in sauce pan. Bring to a simmer after boil takes about 10 minutes until done

2. Cut and wash all of your veggies up

3. Turn on pan or skillet to medium heat

4. add extra virgin olive oil

5. Throw kale into pan cook until it becomes a lively dark green

6. add mushrooms about a minute or two after kale has been cooking

7. Cook mushrooms and kale for about 5-6 minutes

8. Remove kale and mushrooms

9. clean pan or leave as is if you dont mind the flavors mixing while cooking

10. on medium heat add broccoli until desired consistency (some people prefer them more raw,others prefer them soft)

10. remove broccoli and add bell peppers until they the skin begins to soften so about 4-5 minutes

11. Take all ingredients and place in bowl with quinoa mix up and add sauce.

There you have it! A very healthy and light yet satisfying meal.

Image

Photo courtesy of http://www.sweetgreen.com/blog/tag/sweetgreen-quinoa-salad/

Leave a Reply

