Weekly Beats: Hello Grammy Performances 2013!

Is anyone else in complete awe of how amazing this year’s Grammy performances were? Throughout the show I kept waiting for someone to break the chain of great performances, but I was obviously proven wrong. T-Swift kicked off the show with “We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together”, setting the precedent for the rest of the night’s performances. Jack White, Justin Timberlake, The Black Keys, fun., Mumford and Sons, Alicia Keys and Elton John were just a few of the other talented artists that exemplified their musicianship on Sunday. After every performance I found myself overwhelmed by the versatility of the artists and a little disappointed that I never picked up an instrument when I was younger. Also, props to whoever did the set design – you brought every performance to another level. From the different installments to the light shows, you crafted an overly appealing visual experience that complemented each artist individually bringing the whole show to life.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

As exciting as the performances were, I would have to say that my favorite part of the Grammys wasn’t seeing the actual performances or the winners receive their awards, but watching the reaction of the crowd to whoever was performing. Every time the camera panned out to the crowd all you could see were the other artists and celebrities dancing and signing along. I sincerely hope this wasn’t because of the effects of alcohol or anything else because I was really moved by all the energy, love and support taking place in that amphitheater. It reminded me of how powerful music is and its capacity to bring millions of people together regardless of age, religion or race. On that note, if you haven’t watched any of this year’s Grammy performances you are doing yourself a disservice. Personally, my favorite would have to be Bruno Mars performing with Sting, Rihanna, Damien and Ziggy Marley. Check it out here. Well, it only took me 21 years, but I think I finally understand that the Grammys aren’t just another award show, but a true celebration of music. #betterlatethannever

Here are some of the other performances from the night.

Tuesday Tunes:
Purity Ring – Grammy
Toro Y Moi – Say That (DaM-FunK Re-Freak Remix)
Justin Timberlake – Mirrors
Selebrities – Everywhere ft. Erika Spring & Lissy Truille
Yolanda Be Cool – Change ft. Nola Darling

The M Machine – Ghosts in the Machine


☮ Sarah Agopian

Leave a Reply

