Brown Sugar Kitchen

Located in the middle of some random graffiti-covered industrial park in Oakland, finding Brown Sugar Kitchen in itself is an adventure. Fried chicken and waffles are quickly becoming the newest trend for brunch-goers everywhere. I had heard from many about this amazing Brown Sugar Kitchen in Oakland, so I recently stopped by to taste what all the hype was about.

The establishment is the only restaurant in its area, with its only neighbors being a Storage Mart and some weird looking garages…weird location for some down-home cooking. Upon arrival, there were many people seated outside the restaurant, many with mimosas and fresh baked goods in hand during their wait. It’s easy to see why they were already snacking, the wait for 4 people at 11:30 am was 1 hour! The wait wasn’t as agonizing because of the friendly company who had came to dine at BSK, but seeing other patrons’ food made our mouths water and tummies rumble like no other.

When we were finally seated, we ordered right away after having an hour to look over a one page menu. I ordered the Cornmeal Waffle and Fulton Valley Buttermilk Fried Chicken. The food took about another half hour to get to us but it looked great and I couldn’t wait to finally start eating! The waffles were amazing, unlike any I had ever had before! They were extremely light and airy yet filling. It only came with Apple Cider syrup, and while I would have rather had Maple syrup, it would have cost extra. Which was weird. The chicken was also good yet I was so hungry I wished I had more. By the time I finished eating, I actually wished we had just gone to KFC instead.

The Chicken and Waffle meal itself was $15, not including tax or tip, which would only be worth it if it wasn’t accompanied with a one and a half hour wait. All in all, the food was good, but I don’t feel that I got as much bang for my buck.

♦Isabella

Leave a Reply

